Oxpasture Hall Hotel – Review 

Last Saturday I was kindly invited to stay at Oxpasture Hall Hotel, a Luxury Hotel in Scarborough, Yorkshire.

As I live in Derbyshire, which is a 4 hour roundtrip, I decided to take my best friend with me, as the journey might have been a little too much for my 4 year old son (for one night’s stay). Plus this way I was able to get a little ‘me’ time and relax for a change.

My friend and I set off from Derbyshire and had a thoroughly enjoyable drive into the Yorkshire Moors.  The journey was so pretty and idyllic, with a few restaurants and small hotels scattered around the beautiful countryside drive. My friend and I kept saying to one another, “can you believe we have this stunning countryside and the Yorkshire coast here too!?”

As we passed some of the quaint little villages nearby, we noticed that there were lots of gorgeous woodlands, so we kept pulling over to check out the footpaths that led off to some magical walks in the woods.Ironfootbridge had a little path that led down to a lovely little stream with some bird tables (for all you ‘twitchers’ out there) set amongst the charming surroundings. This little footpath was just a mile or two from our hotel – and near Raincliffe Woods – where you can park up and set off exploring or dog walking. Incidentally, the Oxpasture Hotel is dog friendly, so if you want a getaway with the family without leaving behind your canine chum, you’ll have everything you need if you head this way!During our final approach, we came through the grounds of the hotel, which are simply spectacular. The picture below is taken from the driveway of Oxpasture Hall.I cannot begin to tell you how breath-taking this place was. The hotel is set in 17 acres of stunning, secluded grounds and we couldn’t wait to go off and explore.
Check in at the hotel was 2pm and the staff on reception were extremely attentive and knowledgeable. They asked what time we would like to dine that evening and whether we would like choose the bistro or the a’la carte menu. Of course we chose a’la carte for the sheer dining experience and, as many of my blog followers will know, I am a huge foodie!

My friend and I were then greeted by the Maître d’ who gave us our room key, took our luggage and guided us through the grounds and courtyard to our suite – and just check out this ‘room with a view!’- stunning isn’t it?img_5227Our Maître d’ confirmed what time our evening meal was booked for (in the Courtyard Restaurant) and explained that room service was just a ‘0’ dial away – and that all of our needs would be catered for. My friend and I then perused the room, which was fantastic, exceptionally clean and spacious – and the views were exceptional from our suite.

We had bottles of still and sparkling water, a selection of teas and coffees, hot chocolate and biscuits etc. The bedroom had a safe for your valuables, as well as nice little touches – like slippers – and other extras that a standard hotel wouldn’t offer.

I suppose that is one of the (many) reasons why Oxpasture Hall Hotel can call themselves a luxury hotel. The room service menu was also great and very reasonably priced.There were other services available such as a laundry and ironing, and you could request packed picnic lunches if you were heading out for the day, or if you just want to enjoy a picnic on their beautiful grounds.

The bathroom was huge and the shower was fantastic too. Our twin bedroom was beautifully presented and the beds were extremely comfortable, with clean, fresh and high quality linen.

Relaxing in the lounge with a glass of champagne before our evening meal was sheer bliss! It’s such a great space and to have that unbelievable view from the lounge really helped us unwind and relax.Our table was booked for 7.30pm in the restaurant, and a bottle of bubbly was chilling for us when we arrived. The Courtyard Restaurant is such a pretty, intimate and relaxing venue.As mentioned previously, my friend and I decided to dine from the a’la carte menu and boy did it not disappoint.

To Begin:

Amuse Bouche

Bread – Salted Butter

Pig Head – Preserved Vegetables – Apple

To Follow:

100 Day Salted Aged Beef

To Conclude:

Pre dessert

Lemon Meringue Pie – Yogurt

My friend opted for the Salmon starter and Pollock main, followed by the Summer Fruit Pudding.

The food looked sensational and was presented beautifully. I am so pleased we decided to go out of our comfort zone and try some dishes we would never of had chance to experience. The amuse bouche was dressed with caviar which was divine (I’ve never tried caviar before and it was a taste sensation).

My friend’s dishes were also delicious, as we both sampled a little of each other’s. The restaurant staff were very friendly and extremely attentive – and the service was very quick too.

img_5234
My Starter

 

My Main Course

 

My Dessert

After dinner, we returned to our room, but not before taking in the beautiful courtyard and gardens, they looked stunning at night. We spent the rest of the evening in our comfortable lounge (in-room), with the rest of our bubbly and a face mask  for full on girly time. We watched some television together before eventually retiring to our super comfy beds.

We both slept fantastically well and were lucky enough to wake up to sunshine and, once again, just had to explore the beautiful grounds a little more before heading to breakfast around 9.30am.The Courtyard Restaurant had a great continental breakfast selection with croissants, fresh juices, cereals and fruit; together with a selection of great preserves.

My friend and I decided we needed something a little more substantial for breakfast (to soak up the bubbly from the night before) so we opted for the following:

Yorkshire breakfast

Scrambled eggs

Dry cured bacon

Locally crafted Swaledale sausage

Black pudding

Grilled tomato

Fried mushroom

Hash brown

There was also a great selection of other options such as, smoked salmon and scrambled eggs, bacon and maple syrup and porridge (amongst others).

The selection of beverages was also very extensive so my friend was able to have a peppermint tea whilst I opted for a decaf coffee and some fresh cranberry juice. It was very busy during breakfast but service was quick and once again the restaurant staff were very attentive.

If I had to find any negatives at all, I would say that the Yorkshire breakfast wasn’t quite to my taste, but enjoyable nonetheless.

After breakfast, we had one final walk around the beautiful grounds before heading back to check out out at around 10.30am. Once again, the staff on reception were polite and courteous and asked us to complete a feedback form to ensure that we’d enjoyed our visit.

Naturally we confirmed that we had an amazing stay, a great meal and a great night’s sleep. We left feeling super relaxed and felt that we had been very lucky with all of the luxuries made available to us during our stay.

All in all, our stay at Oxpasture Hall was delightful. I wouldn’t hesitate to recommend this venue to my friends and family – whether you want a romantic weekend away, a family break, a relaxing treat with friends or even a walking weekend with your dog, then this is the place for you.img_5224

I couldn’t have felt more comfortable than I did staying at Oxpasture Hall Hotel and I can’t wait to return with my family. Oh and just to add, this place is also available as a wedding venue and, with 17 acres of beautiful, secluded grounds and the most amazing luxuries on site, I’d highly recommend this stunning venue to any bride or groom to be!

 

Disclosure: We were invited to stay at the above hotel for purpose of this review, however all opinions are my own.

 

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “Oxpasture Hall Hotel – Review 

Leave a Reply

