Mister Maker and The Shapes Live – UK Tour

My son is a huge CBeebies fan, in particular, Mister Maker. So when we saw the Mister Maker Tour popping up all over social media it was only a matter of time before we booked to go see him and the shapes. During our deliberation we were lucky enough to be sent some tickets for the show at The Crucible Theatre in Sheffield so I had one excited little boy, and Daddy of course!

Before the event I thought it would be fun to show my son the Mister Maker promotional trailer – he absolutely loved it! He was dancing and clapping along to the songs so I knew we were about to have a great time.

So we arrived at the amazing Crucible Theatre just in time to grab a little lunch and buy some lovely merchandise from the Mister Maker shop. We were prepped with toys, goodies and ready to party. We were also handed a piece of paper by the Mister Maker team and advised to hold on to this as we would use it later in the show.


So we headed off into the theatre, there were lots of excited children (and parents) waiting in the aisles for a glimpse of Mister Maker and the shapes. Before Mister Maker arrived on stage, his team of helpers warmed up the crowd with a few songs and a dance or two, which was great fun.

When Mister Maker appeared, the kids (and parents) clapped and cheered and my son was over the moon that he could see Mister Maker in the flesh. I don’t think he could quite believe that the funny man with the colourful suit was live on stage and, to top it all, so were the shapes!

We then found out that the paper we were given before the show was to be used in a picture that we would all create. Mister Maker’s helpers collected the paper and this was then added to a frame which created the shapes below in the pic, which looked fab!

Mister Maker and his team then got the crowd on their feet, we were all singing, clapping and dancing. I found the whole production very engaging (and his team very funny), and he often asked for audience participation when it came to his songs, such as ‘Mister Maker had a farm, ee-eye-ee-eye-oh….’, and the parents on stage had to recreate animal noises – and boy did they make us and the whole theatre laugh.

Children were also asked to help out with a, ‘minute make’ live on stage and those children on stage got a little prize in return too. There was an interval halfway through the show so we could grab a snack, take the little one to the toilet etc and then more dancing proceeded.

#iamashape Mister Maker and The Shapes Live at The Crucible

I must apologise for the quality of the next set of photos; it was dark, much fun was had and lots of shapes were thrown.


Again I can only apologise for the poor quality of photos, but the lighting in the auditorium was quite low (and yes, I was jumping up and down like a giddy toddler).

I must say, I didn’t really know what to expect from the show, but Mister Maker and his team were extremely entertaining. There was fantastic audience-engagement and we found ourselves laughing out loud to some of his jokes and interactions with the shapes (and with the crowd).

My son enjoyed it but in all honesty I think the hubby and I enjoyed it a little more! My son is only 3 years old so he was getting a little tired towards the end and more interested in his sweets than the show, but my hubby and I were still jigging around as the lights came on!

All I can say is that if your child is a Mister Maker fan, or even a Mini Maker, then you must pop along to one of his shows. It was lots of fun and venue (Crucible Theatre) was superb. I would say it would be more suited to an age range of 5+ plus though, but all in all a fabulous day out.

Adult ticket prices vary from between £14-£16 and childrens tickets between £10-£12 (this depends on which theatre you attend).

Mister Maker tour dates and tickets prices for 2016
*Please note my family and I were sent tickets to the show for purpose of this review but all views are my own*

Leave a Reply

