Top 10 Mum Hacks

Over the past couple of years I have found that a few simple tips or a few simple gadgets can make life a whole lot easier for a new mum, so I thought I would share these with you.

1) My toddler won’t eat eggs: Whether you are preparing a boiled, poached or fried egg and your child refuses to eat one, sneak the runny yolk (mix) into your child’s favourite food (my son’s is baked beans). Protein added and he’s none the wiser.  

2) My toddler won’t drink milk: Add a teaspoon of strawberry fromage frais to a glass of milk and stir, my son gulps this down as he thinks it’s a naughty milkshake. Funky, colourful straws help too

3) My toddler hates having his teeth cleaned: A brush time app has helped my son immensely. This can be downloaded to your iPhone/iPad and it comes with a catchy song and points for them to gain – and usually ensures your child brushes their teeth for the full 2 minutes.

image

4) My toddler wakes in the night and cries for his dummy: A glow in the dark dummy was the best investment we have ever made. Why did we only purchase this a month ago?

5) My toddler is a fussy/picky eater:   Little snack pots with lots of separate food types is a great fascination to little people. Lots of variety means they don’t get bored. Cold meats and cheeses, fruit and vegetables chopped small or into funny shapes. Small strips of pitta bread or tortilla wraps always seem to go down much better than bread  – and cold pasta shapes are a firm favourite. My son doesn’t seem to like bread but loves toast. Bizarre child.

image

6) My toddler has a short attention span and often refuses meals when eating out: Always pack an emergency ‘my child is about to have a tantrum at any moment’ kit. I usually pack a small tub with cereal, raisins and dried fruit, it always seems to focus him. Well at least until we’ve finished our main course. Pack some scrap paper/card and wax crayons.

7) My baby/toddler has dry skin/and or cradle cap  Gently apply extra virgin olive oil to the skin, works a treat. Also fab for baby massage and ensures no irritation.

8) My toddler is having a tantrum: Change the subject/divert your child’s attention to something that might be of interest to them, mid tantrum. Rather than giving the cause of the tantrum positive or negative attention, you are simply not acknowledging their strop. They usually instantly forget. Really useful for social occasions, this one

  9) My toddler will pick up the lurgy at nursery: Buy a digital thermometer (temple and ear probe) that way it’s quick and easy to get an accurate reading of your child’s temperature. It’s a great reassurance. But yes, he definitely will get the lurgy. Constantly.

image

 And finally…..

10) My toddler always has a blocked nose: Don’t buy a bogie-picker! Yes, you can buy them, and yes, I bought one… but they are useless.

4 thoughts on “Top 10 Mum Hacks

Leave a Reply

